nd.gov - The Official Portal for North Dakota State Government
North Dakota: Legendary. Follow the trail of legends
Education Standards and Practices Board logo and title

Education Standards and Practices Board

Assuring highly qualified professional educators for North Dakota students
skip to content
Home
·
Contact Us
·
» Print Friendly Version
About ESPB
What's New
Frequently Asked Questions
Licensure
Professional Practices
Program Approval
Professional Development
Teacher Support System
Links
Forms
ND Education Jobs
 
2718 Gateway Avenue
Suite 204
Bismarck, ND 58503-0585
(701) 328-9641 - Phone
(701) 328-9647 - Fax
espbinfo@nd.gov

ESPB Map

ESPB square logo What's New

We are excited to share with you that HB 1098 was signed by Governor Burgum on April 13, 2017. This bill expands licensure areas for both elementary and secondary teachers. It also will allow teachers to once again teach in their minor areas.

Elementary teachers will now be licensed to teach grades 1-8 (formerly 1-6)

Secondary teachers will now be licensed to teach grades 5-12 (formerly 7-12) in their content area.

If you currently hold a ND teaching license, your license is updated to reflect this new configuration. We will not be printing new licenses for every teacher. However, we encourage you to check your license updates using the ND Educator Search.

With the passing of HB 1098, ESPB will interpret the law, although the rules are not official to indicate the following changes effective July 1:

Substitute Licenses:
The K-12 administrator letter requesting the sub license is no longer required. The sub license will be issued for a two year period at the cost of $80 (instead of 1 year for $40). All other sub requirements will remain the same.

Alternate Access Licenses:
The Alternate Access License will now be issued starting on July 1 of each year, rather than August 1.

Praxis Testing:
A teacher no longer needs to hold their teaching license for 2 years in order to test into a new content area. Also, an elementary teacher no longer needs the 7-12 PLT to move into a secondary content area. They only need the Praxis content test passed. A secondary teacher would need the K-6 PLT and elementary content test in order to move into elementary, or B-3 PLT and early childhood content test to teach early childhood education.

picture of office of the Govenor

Bottom Left to Right: Dr. Rebecca Pitkin (ESPB Executive Director), Governor Burgum, Mari Fridgen (ESPB Asst. Director). Top Left to Right: Dr. Aimee Copas (NDCEL Executive Director), Russ Ziegler (NDCEL Asst. Director), and Karen Christenson (ESPB Board Member).

W3C AA
·
W3C CSS
·
W3C XHTML
Disclaimer
·
Privacy Policy
·
Security Policy